Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

When we moved into our house we knew we wanted to get to know our neighbors. We were excited about the possibility of neighborhood barbeques and sitting on our front porch chatting with our neighbors. We had no idea we would be so blessed with such amazing people all around us. Over the past 2 years our neighbors have become some of our closeset friends. We cook out together and congregate in each other’s yards, catching up on the day. We stay up late drinking wine and talking about life. This past winter we had a snow day (which never happens in Texas) and we played all morning in the snow with our neighbors. This is our neighbor’s daughter, Danielle.

So I write this post to ask, do you know your neighbors? Our lives have become so much richer because of our neighbors.  I encourage you to get to know yours. I believe knowing your neighbors is part of making your house an even greater home. 

Some of you may be reading this and you have lived in your house for 20 years and have never met your neighbors. Or maybe you live somewhere that is only temporary and you know you will not be there long. Wherever you are I encourage you to introduce yourself.  It may look something like this Knock, Knock. “Hi, I’m _______. I live _______. I have never introduced myself and since were neighbors I thought we shouldn’t be strangers.” So many cool opportunities could come out of a simple introduction.

So get out in your yard, say hi to some people and see what happens.

I would love to hear about the new people you meet so leave your stories in the comment section at the bottom of this post.

Leave a Reply

