A Little Nostalgia and House Updates

I had a pretty busy weekend!  Friday, we spent the whole day replacing the bottom half of the siding on the back of our house.  Saturday, I stopped by my neighbor’s garage sale and picked up some great clothes

and this….This is the same Barbie kitchen that is in the picture of me on my “about me” page. When I saw it I couldn’t believe it! I hadn’t thought about this toy in years, then I blogged about it and then I found my wonderful neighbor, Amanda, giving it to me! I will put it in the attic and bring it back out one day for my little girl to play with.

Then, the rest of Saturday was spent finishing up my lamp shade. By the way it sold at the auction!! I will post a tutorial on how to make the lamp shade, stay tuned.  Sunday, was worship, a meeting for our trip this summer, picking up some more road kill (2 chairs that I will practice my upholstery skills on) and then a wonderful dinner with our friends, Josh and Calli.

I had a few friends asking for updates on the house so I thought I would post the latest pictures of our progress.I refused to get 30 feet into the air so instead I stayed on the ground and used my mad carpentry skills:)
The only thing this side needs is painted windows and landscaping!

We spent 8 hours taking out the old door and replacing it with a new-to-us, old door that we found on Craigslist for $40.

My good friend Taytem showed up with her hammer to help.  Thank you, Taytem!

Now, we need to replace a few more boards and add a fresh coat of paint and we will have knocked out 3 of the 4 sides!!!

6 thoughts on “A Little Nostalgia and House Updates

  1. WOW! I am soooooo living vicariously through your home improvement projects! Seriously, I’m freakishly excited to go forth into my own day after reading about your progress. Thanks for sharing and GREAT JOB!

  2. That’s so cool you found the barbie kitchen! I can’t wait til you have a little girl who gets to play with it 🙂

  3. I bought Your Lamp at the auction!!!! I love it! I put it in Laura’s room and I might move it to my little office area when I get one:) Love the look of it.

Leave a Reply

