Created To Create

Hello friends! I have so much I want to share!! I haven’t posted in over a week because I have been a busy bee. So let me start with “In the beginning God created….”  CREATE  is a theme that I keep coming face to face with.  Ever since I was little I have loved to create.  Over the years a lie has crept in that has led me to believe creating isn’t safe and I have battled internally with a desire to create but too insecure to fully embrace it.  Therefore, I feel so many times I take the safe road when it comes to creativity. Well, my loving Father has faithfully been shaking that lie from my grasp.  About a year ago I came to the realization that I was created to create! Oh it felt so good to admit it.  To embrace it. To believe it.  Actually, the other night,  I heard from a very wise young lady that God created all of us in his image and the very first thing he did was create!  So that must mean you and I were created to create!! Isn’t it the most freeing thing to realize that!!!  Well,  the truth that I was created to create has been brought before me again. 

I have spent the last week working with an amazing interior designer, Deborah McIlvaine, who is the owner of Verbena Designs.   Deborah is a true artist and has a wealth of knowledge.  Let me just tell you this woman can do anything when it comes to interiors!  She creates such beautiful, harmonious spaces and I am so excited and humbled that she would want to teach me her tricks of the trade!  As I write this I have tears in my eyes because I can’t believe this dream of mine is coming true.  And the icing on the cake is that Deborah and I get along so well.  She is so much fun to work with! I can honestly say at the end of the day “I am exhausted but I loved my day at work.”  I have longed for so long to be able to say those words.  Deborah offers many different interior design services and can help you achieve the space you dream of.  If you are interested in talking with one of the best in the business her email is debverbena@hotmail.com

In other news I have  volunteered myself to be the decorator for a big event on  July 23. You know I have said before that my husband works with a college ministry well the leadership team is hosting a huge family reunion with all of the alumni.  I just couldn’t pass the opportunity to decorate for the Saturday night dinner so I said sign me up!! Of course this means my brain starts swirling with ideas.  Which usually means  little lists and notes with ideas strung all over the house and car!  Now with the event one week away and  a limited budget I am realizing I may need to cut out some ideas. I am sure it will be wonderful!  Stay tuned for the finished product.

The bathroom is taking shape! We put up the studs for the wall that will separate the guest room from the bathroom. 
And started putting insulation into the walls. 

And purchased a tub that is sitting in our living room:)

We are hoping to get back to working on it in the near future:)

 Here are some pictures I have found, at beautyandthebulldog.com, that are what I hope the space will look like.

I will leave you with this… But now, this is what the Lord says- he who CREATED you, Jacob (Lauren), he who formed you, Israel (Lauren): “Do not fear for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.” Isaiah 43:1

With love,
Lauren  

2 thoughts on “Created To Create

Leave a Reply

