Bliss on a Budget

Good morning! It is 7:45 and I am here at my computer sipping a cup of coffee getting ready for a day of interior decorating!!! I still can’t believe this is my life.  I want to share with you what is going on in my life and career right now.  Can I be a little vulnerable with you?  I never really wanted a “career” or saw myself as a career woman.  My dream is to be a stay at home mom and I am still waiting for that wonderful season in my life.  So in the mean time, I was given the gift of  teaching.  I love kids! I love teaching them and being a safe place for them.  I love watching them learn and grow.  I love  how a child’s face lights up when you tell them you love them!   And I believe God blessed me with the ability to be a good teacher. 

A few months ago, I was talking with a close friend and she shared how much she loves her job and couldn’t imagine not doing what she does.  I can remember telling her I want that for my life and at the time I couldn’t possibly see how that was going to happen for me.  I longed to wake up in the morning loving my job.  I longed to be creative and make money at it.  Now looking back I imagine  God was sitting right there smiling saying “Silly Lauren, if only you knew the plans I have for you!” Now, here I am, it is 3 days into the school year and I feel so much peace.  Many people would say quitting your job in an economy like this is crazy but I know that my God is not bound by this economy.  His plans for my life will stand.  Why wouldn’t they?  I am his beloved daughter.  I am a daughter of the most high King!  So here I go setting out on a journey once a teacher now an interior decorator!

Often, when I meet a student  I ask them what they are studying.  Many times they say they don’t know what they want to do.  So my question to them is “what are you passionate about?” Then I encourage them to pursue that even if it doesn’t make sense.  This is what my friend Amy Smith is doing.  I want to introduce you to Amy and her new blog Bliss on a Budget.  Amy and I met in college and she is an amazing young woman who has decided to pursue one of her passions and wants to share it with you!  Amy has a knack for literally turning trash into treasure.  I am always so impressed by her newest find or creation.  Check her out! And while you’re there don’t forget to subscribe:)    

Thank you to all my friends and family who have encouraged me to pursue my passions.  I cannot thank you enough! I will leave you with this quote from Howard Thurman,  “Don’t ask what the world needs.  Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it.  Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

With love,
Lauren

One thought on “Bliss on a Budget

Leave a Reply

