vintage christmas tree

Hi everyone, I have missed you! I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  We had a great day here in the Lowry home.  Last night we drug our mattress into the living room, fixed a plate of cheese and meats, poured a glass of wine and kicked off the Christmas season with one of our favorite Christmas movies.

I decided after Market On Belvin to slow down so I took a break from blogging and have been trying to put my house back in order.  As I enter into this holiday season I have decided not to get caught up in the busyness of the season.  I have had enough busyness for the year therefore, I plan on spending the next 5 weeks, resting and enjoying all the wonderfulness of Christmas!

I have been working on some Christmas decor goodies I plan on sharing with you.  I am going to do my first series of blog posts called “Christmas Decorating With Lauren.”  In this blog series you will see tutorials and ideas I have done around my house.  My hope is that this will spur on your own creativity and draw you into the excitement of the season.

I know today is a big Christmas tree decorating day so I wanted to share mine with you.  We bought our 9ft., pre-lit tree last year after Christmas when it was 90% off. We were so excited to finally open it this year so last Thursday we pulled it out of the attic, heated some cider, turned on Bing Crosby Christmas music and started setting it up.  As we did we noticed the lights had been cut in several places.  Joel said he could re-wire where it had been cut but after further discussion we decided that could be a possible fire hazard so we resolved to cutting the lights out of the tree.  I don’t know if you have ever seen the lights on a pre-lit tree but they are braided into every branch!!!  What we thought may take an hour took three!  By the time all the lights had been cut out we were so frustrated and tired that we left the mess and went to bed.

Now, a week later it is finally decorated and I can’t wait to share it with all of you.

I wanted a tree this year that would keep with the vintage style of our 1920’s home so I turned my creative juices to my family’s old photos and sheet music.

The colors I chose are red, gold, white, cream and beige.  I mixed rough textures like upholstery webbing with sparkly red and gold balls.

I even added things like an old spur

and antique door hardware.

Stay tuned for my decorating series!

Did you know I offer holiday decorating services? For more information contact me at laurenlowry04@gmail.com.

With love,
Lauren

4 thoughts on “vintage christmas tree

  1. Lauren,
    I love how y’all moved your mattress to the living room and relaxed with cheese and wine; how nice!
    I also like your vintage tree with the old photos!
    So impressed by you!!
    XOXO

Leave a Reply

