“Christmas Decorating With Lauren” Ruffle Tree Skirt

Top of the morning to ya! I’m having a wonderful Wednesday morning, hope you are too.  I was looking through some old pictures and found this one of our first Christmas tree.

This was when we lived in our apartment.  Ahh, I love those memories.

Today, I’m going to share a tutorial with you that I can’t fully lay claim to.  I found this tutorial on Miss Mustard Seed’s blog and tried it for myself.  I have never owned an official tree skirt before this year but have always used a Saree Joel bought me while he was in India.  So, I super excited about this tree skirt and I have to say I think I created one of the cutest ruffle tree skirts San Marcos, Texas has ever seen!  It reminds me of lingerie from the 1920’s!  I do have to warn you if you plan on making a ruffle tree skirt set aside 3-4 hours because it is pretty time consuming.

I put my own spin on it, instead of using all one material like Linen, I alternated with burlap, lace and scraps of material I already had.

If you don’t have scraps of material and want inexpensive material, you can buy a twin size flat sheet from Wal-mart.

Here is the link to the tutorial on Miss Mustard Seed’s blog.  Enjoy!

DECORATING TIP: Choose a color scheme for your tree and use that to determine the ornaments you use.  Hang unconventional items like I did with an old spur or antique door hardware.  I made sure these items kept with the style and color scheme for my tree.

With love,
Lauren

3 thoughts on ““Christmas Decorating With Lauren” Ruffle Tree Skirt

  1. Found your blog on Pinterest and I’m loving the ideas I’m seeing!! 🙂 Where did you buy the burlap ribbon that you used on your tree? I love it, but can’t find it anywhere!!

    Thanks again for the great ideas!!

    Analisa

    • Hi Analisa
      I’m so glad you found The Rescued Home! I used upholstery webbing in my tree and found it at Hobby Lobby. I did have a difficult time finding it because it was sold out at several Hobby Lobbys, you may want to also check fabric stores. Good luck!

      Lauren

      • Thank you so much!! I’ve been to EVERY Hobby Lobby in our area, so I’m assuming they’ve sold out. SUCH a bummer!! Next year, for sure, though! 🙂

        Thanks, again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

