Thank You 2011 and Room Updates

I spent my morning reflecting on this year.  I reflect a lot, maybe too much!  I am so excited about 2012, I think it is going to be the best year yet!  As I reflected on all God did and all we accomplished I kept coming back to this question.  Did I love well?  I read this quote somewhere and I feel it captures my desire for life,” I’m not too concerned with what I am going to do. I am more interested in who I am becoming. I WANT TO BE A LOVER OF GOD AND PEOPLE.”  I just love it!  So, I asked myself, was I a lover of God and people?  Yes, I can look back and say I did love well. And no, there are times when I failed miserably at it but, I am so grateful for the grace that covers my life when I do fail at it.  As I head into 2012 my focus will not be getting in shape, making my house more beautiful, growing my business, or acquiring more stuff but it will be, I’m going to be a lover of God and people.  I think if I keep my eyes set on that goal all the other things will fall into place.

Ok now that I have that off my chest I want to update you on the guest room progress.  We are five days in and this is what we call the grind or the trenches.  It is the worst part but the great thing is that we know it will end.  What is the grind or trench?  It is the part of the project where the whole house is officially covered in dust and my floors look like this.

And my house looks like a construction zone.

It is when we see progress but it looks the worst.  It is when all we want to do is paint but we still have a list of prep work that needs to be completed.  It is when our bodies ache in the morning and we toy with the idea of leaving town for the day just to escape the huge task before us.  It is when the rubber meets the road and we have to ask ourselves, do we really want this?  I know we couldn’t do this if we were spurring each other on to the finish line.  Here are pictures of our progress.  We took out the door between our bathroom and the guest room. Here is the original view from our bathroom (I lost my shoe hanging spot).

And covered it with sheet rock. We also took out the small closet door and covered the hole.

Where we had cut a hole for the new closet we put in a new header and re-inforced the door way.

Then we moved the door that we took out, from the bathroom, into its new spot and put the shiplap back up.

And we sheet rocked the inside of the new closet and my new craft closet.

We also decided on a wall paint color, Ligonier Tan by Sherwin Williams.

Happy New Year!
I challenge you this year to be a lover of God and people.
With love,
Lauren

2 thoughts on “Thank You 2011 and Room Updates

  1. Hi, I got your address from Bojan. I live in Holland, and I love your work and website and your looking for things nobody want to have it. You make things beautiful! You give dead stuff back its life.
    I work also with old materials and furnishing, different from you, maybe you can find some inspiration in it. I give old stuff new life with colour, paper and different materials. If you go to my website the dutch word you need = curiosa (things from nature with paint, feathers) or gallerie.
    Love & inspiration from Holland! Anne

    • Hi Anne
      Greetings from Texas. Thank you for reading! I love that we share the same excitement for transforming old stuff. I would love to see your website and work, I’m always up for new inspiration. What is the address? Take care.
      Lauren

Leave a Reply

