Heart Bunting Tutorial

Valentine’s Day is six days away and I love the fact that it is a day dedicated to celebrating love.  The definition of love is a strong feeling of affection, loyalty, and concern for someone.  In the bible in 1 John 4:8 it says that “God is love” and then it goes on to tell us what real love is.
This means that
God is affection.
God is loyalty.
God is concern for someone.
Wow! How cool.  Yep, sign me up! If Valentine’s Day is a day of celebrating love then I’m in.
So in celebration of love I’m going to share my Heart Bunting tutorial with you.

Bunting are strings of colorful triangular flags.  I learned about bunting last summer while in England.  From what I understand, it is common to have bunting at british weddings.  I love how charming and playful they are.  I made my Heart Bunting last year at a craft night I hosted

We had so much fun making it!  This is an easy craft that can be easily created at a craft night.  You can have all the ladies bring scrapbook paper and fabric and everyone can make their own bunting.  Writing this post also reminds me of when I spent a day last summer, with my friend Casey, sewing yards and yards of it for an event I decorated! Read about that adventure here.

You will need:

large heart stencil
small heart stencil
scrapbook paper, cardstock, scraps of fabric
scissors
ribbon
glue sticks
hole punch

First, trace your large heart onto a piece of paper or cardstock.

Then trace the small heart onto paper, cardstock or fabric.  For some of my small hearts I used scraps of fabric but you want to use large cardstock hearts behind the small fabric hearts so they can hold the weight of the fabric.

Once you have traced both hearts cut them out.

Repeat with different paper and fabric.
Once you have cut out all the hearts, glue the small hearts on top of the large hearts and arrange them in a line.

Next punch two holes in your hearts. One on each top side of the heart.

Then tie the hearts together with five inch strips of ribbon.

Now hang across a door way or a window where it can be seen.

After Christmas I didn’t have much in me to do it up for Valentines so here are some simple things I did around my house.

I made a LOVE bunting.  I created a triangle stencil.  Took pages from an old book and cut out four triangles.  Then I stenciled the letters onto the triangles.  Punched holes and strung them together.


I leave you with this,
Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous, it does not brag, and it is not proud.  Love is not rude, is not selfish and does not get upset with others.  Love does not count up wrongs that have been done.  Love takes no pleasure in evil but rejoices over the truth.  Love patiently accepts all things.  It always trusts, always hopes, and always endures.  Love never ends. 1 Corinthians 13:4-8.

With love,
Lauren

One thought on “Heart Bunting Tutorial

Leave a Reply

