These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

The Sound of Music was one of my favorite movies as a little girl.  Especially, the song that goes something like,  “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…..These are a few of my favorite things….When the dog bites, when the bee stings and I’m feeling sad I simply remember my favorite things and then I don’t feel so bad.”  Isn’t it so true, when we are needing a little comfort we turn to our favorite things?  I know I do.

The things I like and reasons I like them is partly a result of growing up in a slow-paced, no fuss, Texas Hill Country town.  Part of it is because I come from a long line of creative, out of the box, thinkin’ women.  Part of it is a result of growing up with a mom who taught me how to stretch my dollar in every way possible and how to find beautiful things for the home in nature.  Part of it is the calm I feel when I look at warm environments like a Tuscan villa or an African safari.  And part of it comes from the excitement I get from rescuing something old and forgotten and making it the focal point in a room.  Ok, I’m going to stop trying to explain it and just show you pictures so you can get the picture.

Here are a few of my favorite things.

rusty metal boxes

unique chairs

painted ship lap walls and tin ceilings

flowy skirts

chippy green paint on furniture

bedrooms with masonry

mercury glass lamps

decorating with grapevine

wire baskets

Tuscany!

steamer trunks

furniture in the bathroom

vintage inspired lights

rich fabrics

wooden crates

parties in old wooden buildings

and chippy paint, plastered walls.

What are a few of your favorite things? Leave a comment, I would love to know.

With love,
Lauren

2 thoughts on “These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

