A Little More Home Improving

Hi friends! I hope y’all had a great week.  Mine went by really fast.  Today is Wimberley Market Days and I’m sitting here trying to decide if I should go.  It is one of my most favorite places but I don’t really need anything and I know if I go I will buy something wonderful and amazing and it would probably look fabulous in my house.  OH I don’t know self-control….or no self-control??? I guess we will just have to see.

Ok, onto more home improving. The weather last weekend was so awesome so we wanted to do a bit of yard work.  We planted a few trees in the backyard 3 years ago when we moved in and haven’t put our green thumb to work since.  About a month ago our decision to landscape was set in motion after a quick search in the plant clearance section at Lowes. We found shrubs that were on sale for $1.75! We bought all 7 and figured we could find a place for them.  Our goal was to create 2 flower beds in the front yard and spend the least amount of money as possible.  This is how we saved money.

  • Instead of buying a truck load of dirt to create the beds we transferred a pile of dirt from the backyard.
  • We dug up a few plants that were already in the yard and used them in the beds.
  • USED PLANTS! Instead of buying all new plants, I dug up some from my neighbors and parents yards and bought a couple at an estate sale.

Sharing and transferring plants is the way my grandparents and parents gardened.  Growing up this is how my mom taught me to garden.  I planted a part of a plant, we call it a Maybelle plant, that came from my parent’s yard, that came from my aunt’s yard, that came from my grandparent’s yard, that came from my great-grandmother’s yard, that came from Maybelle’s yard, a family friend who my great-grandmother and grandmother lived with during the Great Depression.  I love having a story behind the things in and around my home!

Here is what the house looked like when we moved in.

Here is what it looks like today!

I bought two mature ferns at an estate sale for $3.50 each.  Next time you’re at a garage sale or estate sale look for plants.  Even if they look bad you can prune them and with a little bit of fertilizer and water you can give them life again.

These plants are transfer plants I had in pots.

I also did a little improving in our guest room.

Here is what it originally looked like.

Here it is after we put up the wall to enclose the extension on the guest bathroom.

Here it is today.

I also made window coverings.  You can see the blue tape that is still on the outside of the windows, oops:)
You can read my post about the inspiration I had for window coverings here.

I didn’t want to spend a lot of money so I used what I had.  This is how I saved money

  • I tea-dyed white curtains I already had from Ikea.
  • I cut up an old table-cloth my neighbor gave me and made the two 1/2 curtains and bought 2 tension rods.
  • I saved over $30 by making the curtain rod.  I bought the rod and finials unfinished at Lowes and the brackets unfinished at Hobby Lobby.  Then painted all of it in the trim color, Summer White by Sherwin Williams.

I took this piece down and put it over our couch.

And moved this piece from the living room into the guest room.

With love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

