Greetings From Greece

Greetings from Thessaloniki, Greece!!!!  Ahh we have finally settled in enough for me to be able to sit down and write.   I’m sitting at a Starbucks that overlooks the Aegean Sea, how blessed the people of Thessaloniki are to have the opportunity to live here.   I can’t believe I’m in a city where parts of the original church were birthed.   There are land marks where the apostle Paul preached!

We traveled for over 30 hours and have spent the past few days getting adjusted to our new life in Thessaloniki.  Thessaloniki a city of 1.5 million people, is very different from San Marcos, Texas.  The city buzzes 24/7.  We woke this morning to the sound of a parade outside of our apartment in downtown Thessaloniki.  We are adjusting quickly and learning the city and have already made new friends.  I am so excited to see what God has in store for us over the next month.

On the way over we had a 13 hour layover in Zurich, Switzerland where we were able to get out of the airport and explore the city.   Zurich was the quietest, most peaceful city I’ve ever been in.  It is very orderly and clean.  I didn’t see one piece of trash on the ground!  The people are reserved and well put together. Here are a few pictures I snapped.

There were cobblestone streets everywhere.

And of course I will always find antique shops no matter where I am in the world!

Greece is very different from Switzerland.  It is loud and colorful and messy.  It isn’t illegal to double park and there is graffiti art all over the city.  It isn’t unusual to see two men standing in the street arguing and throwing their arms in the air.  The people in Greece are very fashionable and spend a lot of time in small street side cafes with friends drinking coffee and smoking.  They have been so friendly and have welcomed us to their city.  I haven’t had my camera with me that much but here are a few pictures.

This is Kamara, the old city gate.  The new city is built up all around old ruins.

Stay tuned for more!
With love,
Lauren

3 thoughts on “Greetings From Greece

  1. oh i love it! I can’t wait to hear stories. we will be praying for you at su casa de lowry tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

