Black Paint and Lace

I love this time of year! It is the beginning to months of festivities and fun decorations.  I usually just decorate for Fall and not Halloween so I can keep the same decorations up for October and November but after reading an article called “Arsenic and Old Lace”  in this month’s Country Living I knew I wanted to dive into some Halloween decorations.  Armed with black spray paint and old doilies I got to work and this is what I created.

Joel and I take our Halloween costumes very seriously and every year challenge ourselves to come up with funnier more creative costume than the year before.  I printed a few pictures from Halloween’s passed, spray painted some frames I already had and added the memories to my decor.

I bought a plastic pumpkin from the dollar section and Modge Podged it with pages from and old dictionary.

These candles are what inspired everything.  I bought taper candles at the dollar store, cut up old lace my mom picked up by someone’s curb after a garage sale and I painted the lace with black craft paint.  While the paint was still wet I rolled the tapers across the lace leaving the pattern of the lace on the candles.

I just love how they turned out!

I bought some old doilies that resemble spider webs at Wimberley Market Days, spray painted more frames and added the doilies.

The black books were cardboard storage boxes I spray painted with flat black paint.

Joel bought me these oversized Candy Corn last year from Etsy.  There is nothing that says Halloween like Candy Corn!

What about you? Do you decorate for Halloween?

With love,
Lauren

4 thoughts on “Black Paint and Lace

Leave a Reply

