Driftwood Wreath Tutorial

This creation has been brewing for over a year.  Last summer, while vacationing at the lake I spent a day collecting driftwood with the intention of making something pretty.  I brought the driftwood home, put it under my car port and it sat in the same place ever since.  I made the commitment to Joel last week that if I had not made something out of the driftwood within a month I would trash it.  This commitment put a little fire under my pants to make a decision about my driftwood.  Well, a few days ago the latest catalog from Restoration Hardware came in the mail and after thumbing through the pages I found inspiration for my driftwood.

I decided I would make a driftwood wreath and not have to spend a penny.  I love how it turned out and wanted to share with you how I made it.

What you need:
Driftwood
Hot glue gun and glue (if you plan on hanging it on a door or putting it outside you may want to use stronger glue like wood glue)
Time! This project took me well over 8 hours.

First, lay out a few long, curved pieces for the frame. Notice how the Restoration Hardware driftwood is all facing the same direction.  As you lay out your pieces make sure they are all going in the same direction.

Apply a liberal amount of glue.

Attach pieces and continue to build the wreath by adding more pieces.

Stick and weave smaller pieces between the longer frame pieces.

I had to go back and apply spots of glue once it was all assembled in order to reinforce the wreath.  Once you have glued all your pieces together put your wreath on display in your home!

I had some larger pieces left over that I stuck in a wire basket along with a few shells.

With love,
Lauren

3 thoughts on “Driftwood Wreath Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Christmas at The Rescued Home « the rescued home

Leave a Reply

