The Day You Were Born

It has been 9 days since my sweet baby Eliza entered the world. I love her soo much, my heart is wrecked! The greatest part is watching Joel with her. He is giddy and full of life in spite of sleep deprivation. Since many of our friends and family follow The Rescued Home I thought I would share a little of my delivery story and these amazing pictures my cousin, Carlie, took on Eliza’s birthday.

Our plan was to have as natural of a birth as possible. I had done my research and decided I wanted to fully experience what it was like to be a woman in labor. I had dreams of a dimly lit room, worship music playing in the background and birthing my baby and then walking around a few hours later. God had other plans.

My contractions started Saturday, January 5th at 2am. I spent all day Saturday on the couch experiencing contractions. Around 9pm on Saturday I knew it was time to go to the hospital. Also around this time Joel was experiencing the tiring effects of the cold that had set in the night before. We checked into the hospital at 10pm on Saturday. We settled into the labor and delivery room and waited to see the doctor on call. After laboring for about 2 hours, Eliza’s heart rate took a dip. Alarms were going off and other nurses were running into the room to quickly hook me up to an iv and oxygen. At that time the doctor rushed into the room and saw that my eyes were the size of marbles. I was terrified! He explained that her heart rate had dropped and we were going to monitor her closely. My labor then progressed slowly and over 6 hours later she was stuck. My contractions were becoming increasingly painful and pain medication became a very appealing option. Then my contractions became unbearable and with every contraction her heart rate dropped. The doctor said he thought something was wrong and believed her cord was wrapped somewhere around her. He then told me around 10 am Sunday morning that I was going to need a c-section. I lost it. I began crying and asking God why this was happening. I had an amazing pregnancy and had expectations that my labor and delivery would be without complications. I had dreams of what my birth experience would be like and in that moment I felt all that being ripped from me. Me and Joel held hands as we cried out to God for wisdom and comfort. The next thing I knew I was being prepared for surgery. I was soo scared and shaking all over. I have never had surgery or broken anything.

They wheeled me into the surgery room and there were bright lights everywhere. Shortly after that my body went numb and Joel walked in dressed from head to toe in a blue, paper outfit. All I remember was thinking wow, he looks hot! Then after 34 hours, at 12:23pm they lifted our little girl out of me. The doctor said her cord was wrapped tightly around her neck and she was face up. It was the most beautiful sound when I heard her cry for the first time. My baby was alive and safe! She weighed 7.1 lbs and was 21 inches long.

Then the hardest part came over the next hours as I recovered. I was exhausted and full of emotion as I processed what just happened. The next few days were a whirl wind of different nurses and one hour sleep spurts. But even in the middle of all of it God was right there, sustaining me, comforting me. We were released four days later after Eliza’s sodium levels came down and she was able to nurse properly.

As we recovered in the hospital I asked Joel to read scripture to me and Eliza. He opened his bible and turned to this scripture,

I love you, Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I called to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies. The cords of death entangled me. The cords of the grave coiled around me; the snares of death confronted me. He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters. He rescued me… Psalm 18:1-5, 16&17

Wow God’s word is alive and actively pursuing us!

Ever since we have been home it has been a gradual incline as we settle into our new normal. Joel and I have laughed everyday together and have never been more in love. I’m at complete rest being home with my family. I thank God for his protection and provision. I know Eliza has been given to us. A great gift from a loving father! I look forward to introducing her to all of our friends and family and can’t wait to see the amazing story of Eliza’s life unfold before me.

These are the pictures that captured the story of Eliza’s birth. I will forever cherish them!

DSC_1231 (1280x850)

DSC_1248 (1280x850)

DSC_1249 (1280x850)

DSC_1344 (1280x850)

DSC_1237 (850x1280)

DSC_1244 (850x1280)

DSC_1268 (1280x855)

DSC_1269 (853x1280)

DSC_1309 (1280x850)

DSC_1305 (1280x856)

DSC_1311 (1280x855)

DSC_1298 (1280x855)

DSC_1252 (850x1280)

DSC_1255 (1280x858)

DSC_1336 (1280x850)

DSC_1293 (855x1280)

DSC_1281 (1280x856)

DSC_1316 (1280x850)

DSC_1319 (850x1280)

DSC_1321 (853x1280)

DSC_1337 (1280x850)

DSC_1329 (852x1280)

DSC_1332 (850x1280)

With love,
Lauren

3 thoughts on “The Day You Were Born

  1. This was beautiful. I cried. You and Joel have been waiting for little Eliza for a long time now. I am so happy for y’all she is absolutely lovely. Love you guys!

  2. wow, I teared up as I read you words. So amazing! So precious… memories flowed as I recalled my emergency c section. Wild ride right?! His Peace is a must! You have plenty of courage and grace and a beautiful blessing of a gift-child to cherish forever! Each time you have your babies the experience will be different as each child is different. I remember looking at little, tiny Rylee, (six week premature) and then it hit me… God loves me more than this?! wow. Our father who is in heaven AND right here, right now.. for you, for Eliza, Joel… and every one of His children.

Leave a Reply

