A Few Changes Around Here

Yesterday marked four weeks since Eliza’s birth.  The past four weeks have been the most life changing, challenging, life-filled, love-filled, exhausting weeks of my life!  Sleep deprivation is brutal but we turned a corner this weekend and I slept like I’ve never slept before and for the first time in four weeks feel like a normal person again! One thing that has gotten me through these weeks has been the amazing support I have around me.  Joel is the best man, husband, dad, and friend I could have ever asked for.  He has jumped into his new role with ease and full of strength.  My mom and mother-in-law have been amazing.  My sister-in-laws, who both have children, along with many of my friends who are a few months ahead of me in motherhood have been a God send.  I don’t know how many times I have contacted them with questions on how to be a mom and how to keep a little life alive!

All this sitting around, spending hours looking at interior design magazines and Pintrest has got my wheels spinning for new projects around the house.  Ok side note,  I now know why Facebook, Pintrest and Iphones were created, they are for moms who are up at all hours of the night, trying to stay awake while they tend to their babies! Anyway, I know all new house projects will be on hold for a while but I am itching to pick up a hammer and paintbrush!   Our next goal is to finish the outside of the house, a project we started over two years ago.  Our neighbors have been so gracious with us, thanks Danny and Marsha!  Once that is finished we have dreams for a new front porch, a fence and a back deck.

So I don’t have any pictures of new projects but I do have a few of some changes that we have made (or have happened) around The Rescued Home.

Here is what I wear to work everyday, pjs and my baby!  Eliza loves to sleep in her homemade Moby Wrap.  I found a tutorial on how to make it here, Moby Wrap tutorial.  And here is a link on how to tie it, How To Tie A Moby Wrap.

IMG_3300 (1134x1280)

I have traded my well staged decor for an array of baby items.

IMG_3303 (853x1280)

We moved her pack and play from our room into the living room because she coos and grunts all night.

Our couch no longer houses our beautifully arranged throw pillows but now serves as a purely functional part of our living room, a place to sleep, feed and change baby.

IMG_3305 (1280x853)

IMG_3312 (853x1280)

There are clues all over that a baby lives here.

IMG_3309 (1280x853)

IMG_3302 (824x1280)

IMG_3301 (853x1280)

IMG_3307 (1280x853)

The new changes may not be magazine worthy or “pinnable”  but I wouldn’t trade it for anything!

With love,
Lauren

5 thoughts on “A Few Changes Around Here

  1. Love this post! You and Joel are amazing parents. And ummmm, THANK Y’ALL for being so patient with us! We love everything y’all have done with the house and We ❤ your beautiful family!!

  2. I love the new changes. What remarkable decorating. Baby girl is adding her touches on what you and Joel have done. Love it! Enjoy Mama!!!

Leave a Reply

