Furniture… My Canvas Of Choice

I would like to say hi to all my new subscribers!  Welcome to The Rescued Home.  Hope you enjoy following along as we continue in our DIY adventure.

I’m sitting on my couch, eating hummus (which is amazing because I never thought I would touch the stuff again after my first trimester), baby is sleeping, a storm is rolling in… life is good.  I have been meaning to write this post for almost two weeks now! It seems once house work is done, family is tended to and I am able to get in some down time I just don’t have space in my life to sit at the computer for an extended amount of time.  I’m sure many of you can relate.  So here I am with a window of time to write and I’m taking it, the laundry can wait!

Furniture is my canvas of choice!  Ever since I was a little girl I loved to take an old piece of unwanted furniture and transform it into something beautiful.   My mom taught me how to have a steady hand and I actually love painting.  I wouldn’t consider myself an artist when it comes to painting.  Don’t give me an actual canvas and ask me to paint anything more advanced than what a five-year old could paint but give me an old dresser and voila I feel like Michelangelo!

I had a friend contact me about refinishing her daughter’s dresser.  I accepted the job on the terms that I couldn’t promise a quick turn around.  Before Eliza I knew how long it would take to refinish a piece but after baby I had no idea.  Surprisingly, I was able to finish it in a reasonable amount of time.  The process looked different, I would paint for about 30 minutes then stop to feed Eliza, then paint for another 30 and stop to put her down for a nap, then paint for 2 hours then stop to play with her, you get the picture.  Where I used to just plow through a project I have now learned to work quickly when time allows.  Much like this blog post, my fingers are moving much faster with anticipation that I will hear a little squeal come from the other room telling my time alone is up!

Here is the dresser before.

photo (965x1280)

Here is the inspiration picture.

1a9716b9bf66f4e6c03175372fc0f18e[1]

I found the picture here Classic Casual Home 

Here is the finished dresser.

IMG_3601 (764x1280)

IMG_3642 (1280x908)

IMG_3643 (785x1280)

IMG_3614 (730x1280)

IMG_3627 (1280x1024)

IMG_3628 (1280x853)

IMG_3637 (853x1280)

IMG_3624 (1280x853)

IMG_3630 (853x1280)

IMG_3601 (764x1280)

And it looks like my time is up!

Stay tuned for my next post.  We started a new project in the dining room and I can’t wait to share it with all of you.

With love,
Lauren

4 thoughts on “Furniture… My Canvas Of Choice

    • Hi Colleen
      Thanks for stopping by! I don’t have a tutorial on the dresser but I am about to refinish another piece and I will try to get one up. The dresser previously had oil based paint on it so I primed it then used Sherwin Williams Proclassic enamel paint in Synergy. Then I used a glaze and tinted it with black acrylic craft paint. I brushed the glaze on in small sections then wiped it away. In the creases and corners I left more glaze. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

