Dining Room Redo Part 1

So the conversation went something like this….

Joel: I want to do something fun with you.
Me: Ok well if we do something outside it has to be in water or we need to find something to do indoors.
Joel: Want to redo the dining room?
Me: Ok! (not totally sure what he has in mind but TOTALLY pumped about the possibilities)

An hour later we found ourselves measuring the dining room, making a material list and heading to Lowes.  This is what I love about our relationship, we know what we enjoy and we have fun together.  I would follow Joel into any adventure!  Yet, I don’t consider myself very spontaneous, Joel would argue I am the very opposite of spontaneous.  I don’t like it when plans change actually I get really frustrated when plans change.  I set my course then I don’t deviate except when it comes to any project on the house especially when he suggests it as a form of entertainment.  We do all of our projects on a very strict budget and often plan months in advance before we take one on.  We have done all of our remodeling with cash except when we had central ac and heat installed.  So you can only imagine my excitement when Joel said I think we can find some room in our budget to work on the dining room.

Joel has been wanting to put up board and batten paneling somewhere in our house and the dining room seemed like the perfect place for it. The space that we now call our dining room was originally a sleeping porch and was later closed in and used as a master bedroom.  We converted it to a dining room because you have to walk through the space to get to the second bedroom.  This room was one of the things that made me fall in love with the house before we bought it.  I loved the wall of windows across the back and how the natural light beamed in.

The house April 2009 032

We started our interior remodeling journey over three years ago, in the dining room.  This was the first time I experienced demo, putting up drywall, putting up crown moulding, using a miter saw, drill and nail gun and a whole slew of other DIY firsts.  I loved the finished space.  It was exactly what I had envisioned.

Here it is after we remodeled it.

IMG_1451 (1250x1280)

IMG_1446 (853x1280)

After our trip to Lowes we ran into the storm of the year! We pulled into a gas station in a weak attempt to save our cheap plywood! You should have seen us once we got home, running eight foot sheets of plywood across our front yard and into our front door. HILARIOUS!

photo (2)

We started by setting up shop in our laundry room.  We have an awesomely-big, disgustingly-dingy laundry room that serves as a workshop during projects.

IMG_3650

Then we adhered plywood to the wall using adhesive and a nail gun.  The room looked awful with the pinky/peach plywood.

IMG_3652

IMG_3653

Eliza got her first lesson in how to use the nail gun.

photo

Once the plywood was up we put up the batten pieces.

IMG_3666

IMG_3658

Once those pieces were up we primed it all.

IMG_3667

It took us a week and a day to complete our little Sunday afternoon project.  I have to say I am pretty impressed with our speediness especially with a 6 month old that is teething and wants to be held constantly.

Stay tuned for the finished space. It is quite the transformation!!!

With love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

