About Me

This post is inspired by Emily from Jones Design Company, one of my all time favorite blogs to read. Her blog is a must read. You can check out her blog here.   She recently hosted a series where she featured 20 different bloggers by asking them questions so that readers could get to know them.  I loved reading each post! I felt like I got to know the different women and was so inspired by all of their unique stories.

Her series inspired me to want to share a little about myself so that my readers can get to know me a little more.  So here it goes…

Lauren from The Rescued Home

family photo

WHERE I LIVE SUMMERTIME MEANS
Hot Texas heat, a/c full blast, up-dos, no makeup, loose fitting summer dresses, lounging with friends by a pool or a body of water, and getting projects done.

FAVORITE SPOT IN MY HOUSE
My dining room.  I love all the windows and its recent makeover.  I also love filling it with people.  We have made so many great memories sitting around our table, sharing meals with friends and family.

IMG_3694

IMG_3736

IMG_3698

WHAT SHOULD EVERYROOM HAVE
“I love lamp” -Brick Tamland, Anchorman.  This quote pretty much sums it up! Not only do I love lamp but I love many lamps. I am not a big fan of over head lighting especially a single bulb light in a ceiling fan.  Every room in my house has at least one lamp, even my kitchen.  I love the coziness a well placed lamp adds to a room.

BEST DIY PROJECT I’VE EVER DONE
Our guest bathroom.  We turned that thing from the ugliest duckling into a beautiful swan!  It was quite an undertaking!!! I learned a lot about plumbing and healthy communication in my marriage.  I will walk into it and just stare at our handy work.  I’m so pleased with how it turned out.

Before

bathroom reno day 1 001 (427x640)

After

IMG_0416 (632x1280)

IMG_0418 (771x1280)

IMG_0426 (849x1280)

WHEN I WAS LITTLE I WANTED TO BE
A dancer.  My dream was to become a ballerina then own a dance studio.  All I wanted to do was dance everyday for the rest of my life!  When I left for university I began pursuing that dream but God took me in a different direction.  I believe He saved me from a life of finding my identity and worth as a dancer. Even though I don’t dance everyday, well at least not professionally, my love for dance remains.

I’M INSPIRED BY
Jesus.  He modeled and models how I want to live my life.  I am inspired by who he is!
&
Nature.  I attribute this to my mom!  Some of my best memories with my mom are of me and her being outside.  She is the one who taught me to see shapes in the clouds, trees that look like animals and how to admire sunsets.  She also taught me how to see a field of weeds and turn them into a beautiful bouquet.
&
The possibility of making something new out of old, broken down, rusted and abandoned things.
&
Beautiful, peaceful spaces.

FIVE WORDS THAT DESCRIBE ME
Sensitive, funny, creative, loyal, introspective.

I hope you feel like you know me a little better.  Thank you for letting me share my life with you!

With love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

