Pie Safe: A Painting Tutorial

It is finished! Painting right now in this season of life is not enjoyable.  I need projects that I can give attention to for a short amount of time and can be easily interrupted then set aside.  Painting furniture is not that kind of project.  But I did it, I finished the pie safe and love how it looks in our new space.  I thought I would share my tips on how I paint furniture since I will probably take a break for a while from it.

Here is what the piece looked like when I bought it.  I liked the painted detail but it didn’t go with the room.  It also originally had screen in the doors but you couldn’t see the dishes inside so I removed the screen and added glass.

IMG_3698

I decided to paint it a more neutral color, Quiver Tan by Sherwin Williams.  I always paint two coats, sometimes three.  If I were to distress the piece and age it with stain, glaze or wax I would paint one or two coats. I decided not to distress this piece because I didn’t want the original blue to show through so I painted two coats then touched up in some areas with a third.

When I paint a piece I paint a section by brushing in one direction first.

IMG_3712

Then horizontally

IMG_3714

In order to not see the horizontal brush strokes come to a stop at the edge of the vertical strokes I feather the horizontal strokes into the vertical strokes.

IMG_3715

Then I go back with a bit of new paint and feather the vertical strokes over the horizontal ones.

IMG_3716

Hope that makes sense!

My secret to inexpensive furniture makeovers is inexpensive paint so I buy $5 sample colors. The thing with buying sample colors is the guys at the paint store will tell you that the paint is not durable enough to be a top coat and I totally agree.  I would not use the sample colors on trim work or kitchen cabinets.  In order to provide a top coat I use Polycrylic, in clear satin by Minwax.  Polycrylic is water based so it won’t yellow over time like polyurethane.

IMG_3763

I apply it using a foam brush.

IMG_3764

The Polycrylic will leave a milky white finish when you paint it on but will dry clear.

I wanted a pop of color in the room so I painted the inside in Hazel by Sherwin Williams.

IMG_3719

Here is the before one more time.

IMG_3698

Here is the after.

IMG_3789  IMG_3798

IMG_3792

IMG_3795

IMG_3793

IMG_3789

With love,
Lauren

Leave a Reply

